The Fans were formed in 1978 by George Smith (lead vocals, rhythm guitar), Robert Williams (lead guitar), Barry Cook (Vocals, bass) and Tony Bird (Vocals and drums). The Bristol, England music scene was humming at the time and The Fans very quickly became not only one of the city's premier bands but also one of the premier bands in the UK.

The band was enthralled by the same vision of creating quality songs at a speed which reflected the genre of the time and their drugs of choicer (cocaine and speed). The principal songwriter was George who had already enjoyed chart success with his earlier band - George and the Dragons. Robert had already had considerable success with the Bristol band Uncle Po, whose members included Gavin King on vocals (later to form the Private Dicks) and Helen O'Hara (later to join Dexy's Midnight Runners).

The Fans' first single was released in 1979 on the newly formed Fried Egg record label "Giving Me That" look backed with "Stay The Night" and the band's version of the Jim Reeves' song - He'll Have To Go: Following considerable success, their second single was released on Fried Egg in 1980 with the songs You Don't Live Here Anymore and Following You. At this time the band secured a major publishing deal but internal frictions about musical direction caused the band to split.